Skip to content

The Many Faces of the Colonel

June 22, 2009
Ready for my close up!

Ready for my close up!

Who doesnt secretly want this?

Who doesn't secretly want this?

I remember one day, many moons ago, discovering on wikipedia a random article. It wasn’t random simply because I used that awesome, time-wasting feature on the sidebar, this article was just random. In the way that only Japanese related things can be.

The article in question was about the amicable KFC mascot Colonel Sanders, and though I imagine it is well reported now, I couldn’t help but want to show my love for the fella’.  The article, titled “Curse of the Colonel” provides an..interesting cultural nook into Japanese sports, one I imagine, you wouldn’t discover from reading any textbook.

In any case his cheap metal effigy has become somewhat iconic and loved by Japanese and gaijin alike. In fact it seems the Colonel is quite taken to adopting a variety of guises:

Truly, this is a man of all occasions

Truly, this is a man of all occasions

Isn’t he a cheeful fellow?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

