Skip to content

I’d Rather Dance, I’d Rather Dance Than Talk With You

February 1, 2010

Since the end of exams, ironically, I am studying more than ever: working paticularly on vocab & listening – the weaker of my skills. It seemed wise to invest time in watching more telly (alas, the dorm’s TV is nigh constantly showing news programmes or political shows somewhat beyond my meagre grasp). The solution? Dramas and movies. (And books and newspapers, but more on that later.)

Whilst siphoning the available options, up came this diamond in the rough Hula Girls.

Based on a true story, HULA GIRLS is a heartwarming comedy about coal miners daughters who took a once-in-a-lifetime chance to escape their monotonous lives, only to become unwitting heroes to their depressed mining town as well as the whole of Japan.

I was drawn to it, not only by the overall aesthetic of the film, but also by Yu Aoi, who plays one of the main characters.

Yu Aoi has to be one of my favourite Japanese actors; I haven’t seen that many films, but of those I have, she has starred in the good ones (All About Lily Chou-Chou and Honey & Clover). She has a different look than the typical “idol” you’d see here, all wide-eyed spider-lashed doll like replicas of each other, which I love. It’s no coincidence Yu Aoi is also heralded as one of the figureheads of the Mori Girls.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 2:51 pm

    hi!

    This is probably very random, but it appears you are living the life I lead two years ago!

    I’m from the UK and did a year abroad at Keio University – even living in Plume :) Number 406, to be precise. Ah… they were the days.

    Hope you’re enjoying it as much as we all did!

    • girlmeetsnippon permalink*
      February 6, 2010 3:03 pm

      Not at all! Thanks for your comment – it’s nice to hear from a fellow British Plume(r). The current circulating debate is which station is better: Shin Kawasaki or Hiyoshi? As Run DMC would say, it’s tricky, tricky, tricky.

      And I shall endeavour to enjoy my stay, nae worries like ;)
      x

Leave a Reply

